Shatabdi Express trains

Shatabdi Express trains are a series of fast (called superfast in India) passenger trains operated by Indian Railways to connect Metro cities with other cities important for tourism, pilgrimage or business. Shatabdi Express are day-trains and they return to the station of origin the same day. The Shatabdis are among the fastest trains in India and the Indian Railways considers them as prestigious. The Shatabdi Express trains run over short to medium distances while the Rajdhani Expresses are long-distance trains connecting the nation's capital New Delhi to capitals of states. Both series of trains have a regular speed of about 130 km/h (81 mph). The 12001 Bhopal Shatabdi express, however, runs at a peak speed of 150 km/h (93 mph), which makes it the fastest train in India.

Shatabdi Express

The word “Shatabdi” means centenary. The first Shatabdi train was started in 1988 to commemorate the centenary of Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru's Birthday by Madhav Rao Scindia, minister for railways. The Rajasthan Tourism Development Corporation provides all the facilities in order to ensure a pleasurable journey. Domestic flights fly back and forth carrying passengers to the Pink City of Jaipur. Apart from flights travelers also can avail the land transport in order to reach Jaipur from Delhi. Trains run from Delhi on a daily basis, for instance the Shatabdi Express and the Intercity Express.
All the Shatabdi Express trains have one coach of first class air-conditioned seating. These coaches have wider leg room and offer better food compared to the normal Air conditioned seating (CC). New on-board entertainment systems have also been installed on some of these trains where the passengers can view movies and television serials directly via satellite.

New Delhi to Ajmer via Jaipur Shatabdi Express train runs on all days of the week except on Wednesday, and it halts in Delhi Cantonment, Gurgaon, Rewari, Alwar, and Jaipur on its course of journey from both destinations. This train has two classes of journey namely First AC Tier and air conditioned Chair Car Tier. Comprehensive details such as train name, their numbers, days and other related information are provided underneath in the table.
The New Delhi Railway Station, station code NDLS, is the main railway station in Delhi. New Delhi Station is the second busiest, and one of the largest, in India. It handles over 300 trains each day, from 16 platforms. The New Delhi station holds the record for the largest route interlocking system in the world. The station is about two kilometers north of Connaught Place, in central Delhi.

In 2007, Terry Farrell and Partners were commissioned to modernize and expand the station in time for the Delhi Commonwealth Games in 2010. Farrells are the lead consultant for the Master plan for Indian Railways for the redevelopment of New Delhi Railway Station, to be in line with the pace of modernization and growth in the city centre. In order to provide station and property development over and around the station the first phase is planned to be operational by the time of Delhi Commonwealth Games in 2010. This redevelopment is expected to cost 6000 Crores.
Amenities at New Delhi railway station

  • Waiting rooms
  • Retiring rooms
  • Computerized reservation office
  • Tea stalls
  • Refreshment room both vegetarian and non vegetarian
  • Book stalls
  • STD / PCO booth
  • G.R.P office
  • Cyber cafe
  • Wheel chairs and stretchers

Same amenities and facilities are found at Jaipur station as well.
Details to travel from New Delhi to Jaipur you have to take Shatabdi Express  with train number 12015 which originates from New Delhi railway station and its destination station is Ajmer. The departure time of this train is 06:05 hrs and the arrival time is 10:30 hrs.

To travel from Jaipur to New Delhi you have to take Shatabdi Express having train number as 12016 which originates from Ajmer and its destination station is New Delhi railway station. The departure time of this train from Jaipur junction is 17:50 hrs and it reach its destination at about 22:40 hrs.

The name of both these trains is AJMER SHTBDI. The average running speed of both these trains is 63.28 Kilometers per hour Time taken by both these trains to reach their destination is about 7 hours. Both of these trains travel about 443 kilometers.

Now about the fare of Shatabdi Express trains

the ticket for the train 12015 would cost you about Rs 1255 for 1 AC seat and one AC CC Tier would cost Rs 570. The train 12016 would cost Rs 1365 for one AC seat and Rs 645 for one non-AC seat.

The various stations in between Delhi and Jaipur station are Sadar Bazar, Delhi Kishanganj, Delhi Sarai Rohilla, Dayabasti, Patel Nagar, Kirtinagar, Delhi Cantt., Palam, Shahabad Mohamadpur, Bijwasan,    Gurgaon, Basai Dhankot, Garhi Harsaru, Patli, Taj Nagar    , Jataula Samphka, Pataudi Road, Inchhapuri, Khalilpur, Kumbhawas Mundhalia Dabri, Rewari, Karnawas, Bawal, Majri Nangal, Ajaraka,    Khanpur Ahir    , Harsauli, Khairthal, Ghatla, Parisal, Alwar, Mahwa, Malakhera, Dhigawara, Rajgarh, Surergoth, Baswa, Gulana, Bandikui Junction, Arnia, Kolvagram,    Bhan Kari, Dausa, Bhandana, Jatwara, Banskho, Jhir, Bassi, Kanauta, Khatipura, Getor Jagatpura, Jaipur Gandhinagar and lastly Jaipur Junction.
For going from Jaipur to New Delhi the order is just reverse.

About the author

Our company deals with "Managing Reputations." We develop and research on Online Communication systems to understand and support clients, as well as try to influence their opinion and behavior. We own, several websites, which includes:
Travel Portals:,, and much more
Oline Visitor's Tracking and Communication System:
Hosting Review and Recommender Systems:
Technology Magazines:
Hosting Services:
We offer our services, to businesses and voluntary organizations.
Our core skills are in developing and maintaining goodwill and understanding between an organization and its public. We also conduct research to find out the concerns and expectations of an organization's stakeholders.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: