Site icon

About Indian Forests

About forest in India

India is country with diverse climatic conditions, different soil types, different geographical conditions and different environmental conditions. From desert in the Rajasthan to the ever green forests in eastern region and from the mountains of the north Himalayan region to the plains of the south, India is a country with varied geographical conditions. Black soil, red soil, alluvial soil, saline, peat, mountain and desert soil are the types of soils present in India. This is the reason responsible for the various types of forests in India.

There are six major types of forests in India :

Tropical Moist Forests

Tropic moist forests can be further classified into evergreen, semi-evergreen, moist deciduous and littoral and swamp.

Tropical Dry Forests

Tropical dry forests can be further categorized into dry deciduous, thorny forests and dry evergreen.

Montane Subtropical Forests

They are further sub divided into broad leaved forests and pine.

Montane Temperate Forests

These types of forests are sub-divided into dry, moist and wet forests.

Sub Alpine Forests

These forests extend from Kashmir to Arunachal Pradesh. Most predominant flora is juniper, rhododendron, willow, black currant, red fir, black juniper, birch, and larch.

Alpine Forests

Alpine can also be categorized into moist and dry.

According to the recent survey, the India State of Forest Report 2011, depicted that forest cover of India has reaches now at 6,92,027 sq km which is 21.05 per cent of total geographical area of India which was 23.02 per cent in 2010.

Indian government and the forest department should take certain measures to enforce the law to conserve the forests land in India. Green mission India is the one step ahead which is to increase forest cover in 20 million hectares of land in 10 years.

Exit mobile version